“You do realise…”

Allie did the introductions in her entry, so I don’t need to add anything, do I?  No?  Good.  To be honest, she’s covered most of the important stuff and I fear I shall sound like a dork.

 

My friend Helen MacBain is a MASSIVE Britpop obsessive.  She owns a Suede mobile.  You know, those dangly things that you hang above babies cots to pacify the whinging brats.  A Suede mobile featuring the sleeve artwork of the first album and the first three singles, no less.  It’s incredible.  In fact, I was once very drunk at her house one night and took a picture:

 

See?  Best.  Tat.  Ever.  Anyways.  She once lent me a brilliant Menswe@r VHS tape with some interviews, all the promo videos and some live footage.  I think it was a fan club thing.  Whatever – it was a very special item.  I’m notoriously bad at returning things I’ve borrowed, but I was finally ready to give it back.  I took it with me to the Rough Trade Pop Quiz one night to do so but couldn’t be bothered to carry my satchel, so there was I, wandering around a pub in 2009 carrying a Menswe@r VHS tape.  Such an astonishing artifact obviously attracted attention, so I ended up in a couple of conversations with various friends and friends of friends about the under-rated amazingness of Menswe@r.  One of these friends of friends was a bearded fellow who listened indulgently while I rambled on about how brilliant I thought they were when I was 15, my failed attempts to get a Johnny Dean haircut, being one of the elite few that owns the ultra-rare-only-ever-released-in-Japan-but-actually-rather-good second album Hay Tiempo, and how it still kinda pisses me off that I never saw them live.  I then carried on getting drunk, focussed on the serious business of winning the pop quiz and thought no more of it.  An hour or so later, a sniggering acquaintance stopped me on my way to the gents.  “You do realise,” he said “that that was Chris Gentry?”

 

 

*facepalm*

 

The contents of that VHS have been rather helpfully uploaded to YouTube.  Part three kicks off with The One, which I still maintain should have been a single.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

